lutherstadt wittenberg/africa forum

Wittenberg_schlosskirche
Yesterday, I went to Lutherstadt Wittenberg. I can’t say I saw much of this historical city, where Martin Luther tacked his 95 Theses to the door of Castle Church.

I spent the afternoon at the Leucorea Foundation at the Wittenberg Center for Global Ethics. Right after I arrived, a gothic fog rolled in over the town obscuring all of those historic buildings. I was sure that either a headless horseman or the cast of the Thriller video was going to step out at any minute.

Africa Forum 2006 at the WCGE takes place from the 3rd – 6th, bringing young leaders to meet with politicians and businesspersons. The theme:  Building Global Cooperation – New Alliances with Africa: Fostering Entrepreneurial Spirit.   

I’m very interested to see which direction this conference takes, especially the input of Andrew Young, and whether fostering entrepreneurship really ends up being the focus. I got involved with the conference sort of indirectly due to an interview I did with Ethan Zuckerman awhile back for a now defunct freelance project. A bit of lemonade out of lemons… 

It will also be interesting to figure out just how I’m going to put together 4 days of real business attire (Berlin "business attire" is something quite different) from my current rotation of maternity clothes from H&M Mama.

Today is supposed to be my recovery day from the past 5 days of Thanksgiving/Berlin visiting. Now we actually have some real baby items, thanks to my mom! I’ve seen smeared fat at the Guggenheim, the Oslo Philharmonic, the inside of Tempelhof airport, all of the antique stores on Bergmannstrasse and the new Asian grocery on Gneisenaustrasse – that sells great stuff like okra (which by the way is called okra in German) and plantains! Basically… I’m not looking forward to traveling to Wittenberg back and forth, three times in a week. But it’s really close, only 40 minutes on the ICE. 

So in the spring, you too can put Lutherstadt Wittenberg on your day trip list. I’m sure there’s something interesting to see when there’s no fog. After all, it did make #3 on ZDF’s favorite places for Germans list.

Leave a Reply

lutherstadt wittenberg/africa forum

Wittenberg_schlosskirche
Yesterday, I went to Lutherstadt Wittenberg. I can’t say I saw much of this historical city, where Martin Luther tacked his 95 Theses to the door of Castle Church.

I spent the afternoon at the Leucorea Foundation at the Wittenberg Center for Global Ethics. Right after I arrived, a gothic fog rolled in over the town obscuring all of those historic buildings. I was sure that either a headless horseman or the cast of the Thriller video was going to step out at any minute.

Africa Forum 2006 at the WCGE takes place from the 3rd – 6th, bringing young leaders to meet with politicians and businesspersons. The theme:  Building Global Cooperation – New Alliances with Africa: Fostering Entrepreneurial Spirit.   

I’m very interested to see which direction this conference takes, especially the input of Andrew Young, and whether fostering entrepreneurship really ends up being the focus. I got involved with the conference sort of indirectly due to an interview I did with Ethan Zuckerman awhile back for a now defunct freelance project. A bit of lemonade out of lemons… 

It will also be interesting to figure out just how I’m going to put together 4 days of real business attire (Berlin "business attire" is something quite different) from my current rotation of maternity clothes from H&M Mama.

Today is supposed to be my recovery day from the past 5 days of Thanksgiving/Berlin visiting. Now we actually have some real baby items, thanks to my mom! I’ve seen smeared fat at the Guggenheim, the Oslo Philharmonic, the inside of Tempelhof airport, all of the antique stores on Bergmannstrasse and the new Asian grocery on Gneisenaustrasse – that sells great stuff like okra (which by the way is called okra in German) and plantains! Basically… I’m not looking forward to traveling to Wittenberg back and forth, three times in a week. But it’s really close, only 40 minutes on the ICE. 

So in the spring, you too can put Lutherstadt Wittenberg on your day trip list. I’m sure there’s something interesting to see when there’s no fog. After all, it did make #3 on ZDF’s favorite places for Germans list.

Leave a Reply

