elections in berlin

I can’t vote here. EU citizens who are Berlin residents are the only foreigners who have the right to vote in local elections I believe. It was just as well… I admit I was leaning towards the Anarachist Pogo Party who promised an Emergency Beer Stand every couple of meters within city limits and youth pensions. I did manage to send my American absentee ballot from somewhere in Aix.

Although I wasn’t voting, it ended up being a pretty politicky day, conversing in the garden of the Jewish Museum, with a picnic basket from Liebermanns. Interesting to note that the food is not kosher. No matter to me… it was really really good and abundant. The strawberry and rhubarb compote is definitely good enough to warrant passing through a metal detector. I’m adding that to the summer/fall must-dos. Other than museum workers on break and two elderly cigar smokers, we were the only ones in the garden on a Sunday afternoon.

2 Comments

  1. Ben said,

    Tuesday 19 September 2006 at 6:43 pm

    good job on the absentee ballot (that reminds me I’ve gotta get mine taken care of pretty soon)… too bad I can’t vote here, otherwise I’d be signed up for the APP post-haste

  2. sattva said,

    Thursday 21 September 2006 at 8:36 am

    i’m usually pretty good at remembering to take care of that. ever since they sent me someone else’s ballot one year. i’m still mad about that… info here on absentee voter registration: http://www.usembassy.de/germany/services/voter_reg.html


Leave a Reply

