WM fun coming to an end

Fussball_1
4 games to go.
2 volunteer shifts left.

What I will miss:

Speaking Spanish. I hardly speak any Spanish but I can understand a lot. I’ve relearned enough in the last week to communicate the answers to FAQ’s for Argentinian fans. I may as well just go ahead and learn Spanish for real. It’s fun!

Fans. These are people who are actually happy to be in Germany for this short period of time. They are so gracious if someone can help them in their native language. They recognize you in the street and wave all excitedly even if their team just lost the day before and tried to beat up the opposing players, PR person and team manager. They shake their head when the natives ask for information and walk away without saying "Thank you."

Free travel on public transportation.

Food vouchers. Won’t have to pay for groceries until August or so…

My Japanese class. This has nothing to do with the WM but it ended this week.

WM visitors. The last two arrived today from Ireland. A great excuse for a last minute trip.

 

What I won’t miss:

Stupid people and their stupid questions.

Example: The evil lady who asked us 5 times in German if we spoke Spanish. It looked as if she had just met this Spanish speaking man on the plane ride and was trying to impress him for some reason.

She walked two feet away and exclaimed to this man in English that we spoke no Spanish, as if we couldn’t hear her and understand what she was saying.  Why she was annoyed I have no idea. She obviously didn’t speak Spanish either. My previous shift – In between 3 volunteers, we spoke German, English, French, Spanish, Portuguese, Ukrainian and Russian. I wanted to bust this woman in the nose.

Wearing badges and anything powder blue.

2 Comments

  1. Sokari said,

    Wednesday 5 July 2006 at 12:50 pm

    Hi – Watching the games on Spanish TV has been exhausting and thats just listening to the commentary. I keep thinking the guys will have heart attacks from their excitement – they use phrases like “this is life” “football is spectaular” “Oh what a glorious evening” “What else could we wish for” etc its a whole new way of listening to football matches and then their is the goal which is held for at least 2 minutes:)

    Enjoy – did you see the post I wrote on Afro German female musicians? its probably listen under music.
    Also I have set up an African Womens Reblog ( the link is on my blog) if you are interested. all the best

  2. sattva said,

    Thursday 6 July 2006 at 8:45 am

    Hi Sokari, sounds like the Spanish commentary is more exciting than what we get in Germany.

    I will look for the music post. I did see the African Women’s Reblog and have been meaning to go back and start reading.

    And I wanted to e-mail you about something else… will have to put that on the to do list.


Leave a Reply

